Update Nov. 7, 2018: Craig, Dawson Walton, Mosqueda-Jones and Simons elected to school board

The filing period (July 31 - Aug. 14) for the four school board seats up for election in 2018 in Osseo Area Schools has concluded.

Three seats will be filled by a general election because the members’ terms are expiring; those seats are currently held by Jim Burgett, Jessica Craig, and Dean Henke. Board members chosen in the general election will take office in January 2019 and serve until January 2023.

One seat will be filled by a special election due to the resignation of current board member Stephanie Fortner, who stepped down on Sept. 30, 2018. The candidate chosen in the special election will take office in November 2018 and serve until January 2021.

When they filed, candidates chose whether to run in the general election or the special election. 

Who filed for school board?

Where do I vote?

Register to vote

Candidate Forums

Sponsored by St. Joseph the Worker Church, Acer, Think Again MN, Local Representation for 279 and NW Suburban Community Labor Coalition
Thursday, October 4, 2018
7-9 p.m.
Saint Joseph the Worker Church, 7180 Hemlock Ln N, Maple Grove

Sponsored by the North Hennepin Area Chamber of Commerce and the Minnesota League of Women Voters; view the CCX Media videorecording
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
7:30-9:30 p.m.
Brooklyn Park City Council Chambers, 5200 85th Avenue N, Brooklyn Park

Sponsored by the ISD 279 Community Education Program Advisory Council
Monday, October 22, 2018
7-8:30 p.m.
Maple Grove Middle School, 7000 Hemlock Lane, Maple Grove 

More information

School Board Election Campaign Finance Reports